2011 Connecticut High School Hockey Senior All-Star Game

Glastonbury High School goalie Chris Hemhauser

Glastonbury's Chris Hemhauser in goal during the 2011 Senior All-Star Game

The 2011 Connecticut high school Senior All-Star Hockey Game started out with all the makings of a defensive battle. Goalies Chris Hemhauser (Glastonbury) and J.P. Withington (West Haven) traded spectacular saves to keep the game at 1-0, in favor of Blue through a period and a half.

The second half of the game was a very different story, though, as Jack Johnson (Rockville/Manchester) netted a hat trick and took home the MVP award for the Gold team as they came from behind to defeat Blue 5-3. The Gold squad also got tallies from Jared Nelson (East Catholic) and James Smith (Bolton/Coventry/Lyman Memorial), while defenseman Gary Criscuolo (Branford) added a pair of assists.

Adam McKay, who scored the game’s first goal with a beautiful top-shelf tally against Withington, was the MVP for the Blue team. Aidan Scott (Ridgefield) and Don Carnicky (Fairfield Prep) also scored for Blue.


Gold Team
Blue Team
JP Withington West Haven Alec Mansfield Amity
Eric Sugrue Notre Dame-Fairfield Chris Hemhauser Glastonbury
Tom Brunski East Haven Aidan Scott Ridgefield
Dan Walsh Xavier Tyler Glassman South Windsor
Garren Fritts Darien Don Carnicky Fairfield Prep
Joey Rush Fermi Jim Burt Hamden
Nash Garceau North Haven Matt Merola Notre Dame-West Haven
Gary Criscuolo Branford Kamil Gosiewski Wilton
Andy Bostic Milford Dylan Balfore Suffield
Jared Nelson East Catholic Brian Cohan Farmington
Troy Raccuia Guilford Tyler Bauer Hand
Ryan Powers Cheshire Adam McKay Lyman Hall
Ian McDonald Enfield Ben Lockhart New Fair/Immaculate
Tali Laifer Staples/Weston/Shelton Max Walker Trumbull
Jack Johnson Rockville/Manchester Justin Sullivan BBD
Greg Matthes Rocky Hill/Middletown Jack Murphy Watertown/Pomperaug
Matt Coco Newington/Berlin Matt Vitti Newtown
Conor Crouse St Joseph Matt St. Martin EO Smith
Luca Addabbo Fitch/Ledyard Luke Frechette Wethersfield
James Smith BCL Eric Podbielski North Branford
Gary Lindgren Amity Mike Barone Farmington
Brett Amero Wilton Bill Gerosa Notre Dame of WH
Chris Stevenson Rockville/Manchester Paul Esposito Newtown